Red Earth Audio has released Rifflab, a probability based step sequencer for Native Instruments Reaktor, capable of generating and playing up to 3 scale locked sequences simultaneously.

Red Earth Audio Rifflab

Each sequence is generated in accordance with the probability parameters set by the user. The Probability sliders allow control of Pitch, Velocity, Note Length, Step Length, Progression, and up to 7 Modulation lines for each generated sequence. It is capable of producing basslines, leads, melodies, chords and arpeggios with unlimited possibilities.

Each click of the Generate button will create an entire new sequence based on the probability parameters you’ve set.

Like some notes but not others? Either lock your favourite notes in and press Generate again, or use the sliders to adjust the output values.

Rifflab features

  • Generates up to 3 sequences at a time.
  • Generate values per panel, per sequence or all 3 sequences simultaneously.
  • Set Key and Scale – ability to make own scale.
  • Scale lock on playback – all notes forced to scale.
  • Value lock – Keep wanted values and only generate new values for unlocked steps.
  • Up to 2 octaves per sequence.
  • Base octave per sequencer.
  • Variable step lengths – including dotted and triplet notes.
  • Rest notes (0 Velocity slider).
  • Variable playback speed.
  • Up to 64 notes per sequence.
  • Up to 32 bars per Progression.
  • Variable Note lengths from 1/4 length to full length.
  • Midi output up to 3 separate channels.
  • Midi CC output via 4 Modulation panels, as well as Pitch, Velocity and Note Length values.
  • Midi in triggers for Progression and sequence output.
  • Progression sync to all sequencers.
  • Timing Offset per sequence.
  • Shift steps per panel, sequence or all sequences.
  • Ability to skip steps or randomize played steps.
  • Low CPU usage.

Rifflab is available for purchase for $9 USD. A free Lite version with limited features is available for download. Requires Reaktor v5.9.2+ full version.

More information: Red Earth Audio