Impact Soundworks has announced the release of its new virtual instrument library for Kontakt. Kageyama Taikos delivers the power and presence of Japanese drums, recorded with a focus on authenticity and versatility.

The library features eight distinct instruments performed by master percussionist and two-time national Odaiko champion Isaku Kageyama.

Unlike other sample libraries that present taikos in an ensemble or large concert hall setting, Kageyama Taikos features these traditional Japanese drums as solo instruments, recorded up-close in an intimate studio space. The resulting sound is expressive, versatile and usable in a wide range of musical styles. Every instrument has been recorded in great depth, spanning many articulations, dynamics, and variations.

“The natural sound of the Japanese taiko is powerful and emotional, and I’m really glad to give it the spotlight it deserves,” said library producer Andrew Aversa. “By working with a true master like Isaku, we can present the true, authentic sound of these beautiful instruments as no one has before.”

Kageyama Taikos features

  • Crystal-clear 24-bit samples.
  • Three mic positions.
  • Odaiko, chudaiko, shimedaiko, okedo (1.5 & 1.4 shaku size).
  • Two atarigane (high & low) and hyoshigi.
  • Up to 10x dynamics, 10x RR, 9 playing techniques.
  • 10 tonal snapshots included.
  • Inspiring 3D-modeled UI.
  • Per-drum tonal shaping and tweaks.
  • Extra sound design controls.
  • Easily create custom mappings.
  • CONSOLE FX rack and mixer with dozens of modules.

The library is available for the full version of Kontakt 6.6 or higher, at an limited time introductory price of $79 USD (regular $99 USD).

More information: Impact Soundworks