Plughugger has announced a brand new sound library for the Omnisphere virtual instrument by Spectrasonics. Cellos of Darkness delivers a cinematic and ambient collection entirely based on the sound of strange cellos found in the Omnisphere sample library.

This collection of sounds is mainly based on the psycho-acoustic recordings of cellos in Omnisphere, but to bring in the soundset down to earth Plughugger decided to include recordings of synthetic cellos, such as Mellotrons and old Yamaha toy keyboards.

The character is dark, organically disturbing and scary.

Cellos of Darkness contains 175 sounds:

  • 33 Arpeggios & Sequences.
  • 9 Effects.
  • 32 Pads & Strings.
  • 12 Synth & Leads.
  • 49 Textures & Soundscapes.
  • 40 Multis.

The sound library is on sale for the introductory price of 4.90 EUR with coupon code DARKSTRINGS at the checkout (regular 19.90 EUR). The offer is valid until January 16th, 2022.

More information: Plughugger